The Lagos State University, LASU, said it has sacked eight staff members comprising five lecturers and three non-academic staff.

They were sacked for offences ranging from certificate forgery and sale of marks among others.

LASU’s spokesperson, Ademola Adekoya, who made this known in a press statement on Friday, said the institution’s Governing Council took the decision at its 122nd Statutory Meeting held on Thursday.

The disclosed also that the council approved the promotion of 31 academic and 346 non-academic staff members.

The statement listed those sacked as; Dr. Henry Gbelee of the Department of Paediatrics and Child Health, Faculty of Clinical Sciences; Dr. Oluwakemi Aboderin-Shonibare, Department of African Languages, Literature and Communication Arts, Faculty of Arts; Dr. Adeolu Oyekan, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts; and Dr. Anthony Dansu, Department of Human Kinetics, Sports and Health Education, Faculty of Education.

Others include; Mr. Kehinde Coker of the Department of Religions and Peace Studies, Faculty of Arts; Mr. Oladapo Akinyemi, Pupil Engineer, Works and Physical Planning Unit; Mrs. Alaba Odu, Faculty of Science; and Mr. Wasiu Busari, Security Unit.