Kano State House of Assembly has passed the Emirate Councils Amendment Bill 2020.

The House adopted the amendment during Tuesday’s plenary presided over by the Speaker, Abdulazeez Gafasa.

Recall that the House had in 2019 approved the creation of four additional Emirate Councils, bringing the number of First Class Emirs in the state to five.

The new Councils were: Gaya; Karaye, Rano, Bichi and the existing Kano Emirate Council.

Majority Leader of the House, Kabiru Dashi said the amended bill made the Emir of Kano the Chairman of the Council of Chiefs, thus, bringing to an end the issue of rotation.

READ ALSO: Nigeria Records 155 Fresh Coronavirus Cases

The bill also changed the title of the Council of Chiefs, to Council of Emirs.

His words: “In the new law, the number of kingmakers have also increased from four to five members, to allow for free and fair election of a new emir whenever there is vacancy.

“We have four kingmakers in each of the Emirate Councils, in the case of death or removal, we are trying to avoid a situation where two will support and two will reject.

“By increasing the number to five; it must be free and fair while electing an emir. And also, the new law will provide a three day deadline for the election of a new emir.”

Meanwhile, the House approved the appointment of Dr. Garba Shehu, as the Executive Secretary, Kano State Education Development Support Fund.