Nigeria bags serial AFRIMA hosting right

The All Africa Music Awards on Wednesday unveiled Tiwa Savage, Davido, Burna Boy, Simi, Wizkid, Kizz Daniel, Teni, Yemi Alade, Niniola alongside other international artistes nominated for 2019 edition of the prestigious award.

This was made public by Aderele Niyi, AFRIMA’s Associate Producer during a press conference held at Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island Lagos.

Niyi said that the nominees, who cut across Western, Eastern, Central, Southern and Northern Africa, were carefully picked after rigorous screenings by a group of professional jury.

She said that some of the criteria used in arriving at the nominees include: fairness, creativity, excellence, integrity, originality of their music, authenticity, which must reveal African concept, among other things.

According to her, the world music festival will hold from Nov.21 to Nov. 23, 2019, in a country that will be announced September.

Niyi said that the event was established to reward and celebrate musical works, talents, and creativity around the African continent while promoting the African cultural heritage.

“The platform is to position Africa as a musical hub for the world as Africans are seen as talented and highly creative.

“This is going to be the 6th edition of AFRIMA and I can say that it has been getting better each year; this year’s edition promises to be a unique one,” she said.

Niyi called for continental support from African leaders in order to enlarge the scope of the event for more international acceptance.

She also urged music artistes to see the platform as theirs for better exploration.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the following were nominated for the best male artistes from West Africa: Burna boy with his song “Ye”, Davido’s “Wonder Woman”, Kizz Daniel’s “Madu” and Wizkid’s “Fever”.

Other nominated artistes are: King Promise from Ghana; Salif Keita from Mali, Shatta Wale from Ghana, Sidiky Diabate from Mali and late DJ Arafat from Cote d’Ivoire.

The nominees for the female category from Nigeria and their works are, Simi’s “I Dun Care,” Tiwa Savage’s “One,” Teni’s “Case,” Yemi Alade’s “Oh My Gosh” and Niniola’s Bana.

Others are Aya Nakamura from Mali; Jossey from Cote d’Ivoire; Kanuer Adams from Liberia; Manamba Kante from Guinea and Mzuee from Ghana.

The best male artistes nominated from Central Africa are : C4 Pedro from Angola; Fally Ipupa from Congo; Locko from the Cameroon; and Magasco also from Cameroon.

Others are; Maitre Gims from Congo; Rui Orlando from Angola; Niska from Congo Brazzaville; Salatiel from the Cameroon and Ya Levis from the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).