Senate President Swears-in Smart Adeyemi As Senator

Senate President, Ahmad Lawan has swore-in Smart Adeyemi as Senator representing Kogi West Senatorial District.

Adeyemi was declared winner of the bye-election conducted in the district by the Independent National Electoral Commission on November 30.

He beat Senator Dino Melaye whose victory in the February 23 election was upturned by the court.

READ ALSO: EXCLUSIVE: APC: Oshiomhole’s victory, bad news for PDP – Smart Adeyemi

With the swearing-in of Adeyemi, the All Progressives Congress, APC, now has 63 Senators in the red chamber with the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, and Young Progressive Party, YPP, having 46 and one member respectively.

Adeyemi is not new in the Senate. He served in the 6th and 7th Senate. He was the Chairman Senate Committee on the FCT in the 7th Senate.