The Deputy Speaker of Imo State House of Assembly, Okey Onyekanma, has resigned his position.

He has also resigned as the Chairman, House Committee on Rules and Business.

Besides resigning from his positions in the House, Onyekanma has also defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

In addition to the Deputy speaker and Minority Leader, Ekene Nnodimele, eight other lawmakers announced their defection to the APC from the Peoples Democratic Party, Action Alliance (AA) and All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) during Tuesday’s plenary.

READ ALSO: BREAKING: Minority Leader Imo House of Assembly Resigns, Defects To APC

They include: Authur Egwim (Ideato North) from AA to APC; Chyna Iwuanyanwu (Nwangele), PDP; Chidiebere Ogbunikpa (Okigwe), PDP; Obinna Okwara (Nkwerre), AA; and Paul Emeziem (Onuimo) also from PDP to APC.

Others are Johnson Duru (Ideato South), AA; Ngozi Obiefule (Isu) AA; and Heclus Okorocha (Ohaji/Egbema) from PDP to APC.
Speaker Collins Chiji read their letters of resignation and defection at plenary.