Akwa Ibom Govt Assigns Portfolios To 8 New Commissioners, Re-assigns Others

The Akwa Ibom State Governor, Mr. Udom Emmanuel, on Monday swore in eight new commissioners and special advisers after confirmation by the State House of Assembly.

This was followed by assignment of portfolios to both old and new commissioners and Special Advisers, which was announced in a release by the Secretary to the State Government, Dr. Emmanuel Ekuwem.

Dr. Ekuwem said the exercise was part of the continuous drive to strengthen all organs of government for the actualization of Mr. Emmanuel’s Completion Agenda.

Of the 22 members of the executive council, 12 have retained their portfolios, two re-assigned and eight new hands have been assigned.

The Commissioners who have retained their portfolios include Mr. Akan Okon- Ministry of Economic Development and Ibom Deep Seaport; Arc. Ime Ekpo, Lands and Water Resources; Uwemedimo Nwoko, Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice; Sir Monday Ebong Uko, Youths and Sports; Nsikan Linus Nkan, Finance; and Okpolupm Ikpong Etteh, Special Duties.

READ ALSO: A’Ibom: Emmanuel appoints Akpabio, Inoka as commissioners

Others are Orman Esin, Culture and Tourism; Dr. Glory Edet, Agricultrue; Prince Ukpong Akpabio, Trade and Industries; Hon. Uno Etim Uno, Transport and Solid Minerals; Otuekong Raphael Bassey, Housing; while Mrs Ekemini David Umoh is still Special Adviser incharge of Bureau of Rural Development and Cooperative.

Mr. Charles Udoh was moved from Information and Strategy to Environment and Petroleum Resources while Pastor Sunday Ekanem Ibuot was moved from Bureau of Political and Legislative Affairs to Labour and Manpower Planning.

Akwa Ibom Govt Assigns Portfolios To 8 New Commissioners, Re-assigns Others Akwa Ibom Govt Assigns Portfolios To 8 New Commissioners, Re-assigns Others

The new Commissioners include Professor Eno James Ibanga, Works and Fire Service; Hon. Frank Archibong, Local Government and Chietaincy Affairs; Prof. Augustine Umoh takes charge of Health; Dr. Ini Adiakpan oversees Women Affairs and Social Welfare; and Mrs. Enobong UdemeAbasi Mbobo handles Education.

Others are Mr. Ini Emembong Essien who is assigned Information and Strategy; Dr. Imo Moffat supervises Science and Technology while Elder Amanam Nkanga goes to Political and Legislative Affairs.

The new Commissioners and Special Advisers were11 sworn in by Governor Udom Emmanuel on Monday, August 3, 2020, at the State Banquet Hall.