65 prisoners regain freedom in Delta

The Presidential Committee on Prisons Reform and Decongestion has released 65 prisoners in Delta.

The Nigerian Prisons Service, NPS, Delta Command disclosed this in a statement issued on Thursday in Asaba.

According to the statement signed by the command’s Public Relations Officer, DSP. Uche Mgbakor, the committee was led by Justice I.U. Bello, the Chief Judge of the Federal Capital Territory, FCT and were accompanied on the tour by the Deputy Controller General of the NPS, Abubakar Garuba.

The statement explained that the lucky inmates were released on the ground of ill health, old age and payment of fines.

It quoted the Abuja Chief Justice as saying that the unconditional release of the inmates was necessary as a means of decongesting the prisons in the state.

READ ALSO: Catholics Urged To Fund Church Media

The statement gave the breakdown of the inmates released from the various prisons across the state are as follows: Warri Prison – 13; Sapele Prison – 15; Kwale Prison – 8; Agbor Prison – 18; Ogwashi-uku Prison – 10.

It further said the Delta Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Peter Mrakpor and a representative of the state Chief Judge, CJ, Justice Marshal Umukoro, were present at the committee’s sitting.

The statement added: “The Delta Controller of Prisons, Mr. Sam Iyakoregha wishes to express his appreciation to the committee and government.

“It is our belief that this good gesture will go a long way in decongesting prisons in the state.’’