Senate Ajourns Plenary Till July 2, 2019.

The Senate on Thursday adjourned plenary till July 2, after announcing the creation of ad-hoc committee.

This followed a motion moved by the Deputy President of the Senate, Ovie Omo-Agege and seconded by Sen. Philip Aduda (PDP-FCT).

The Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, during plenary announced the creation of an ad-hoc committee that would work with the management of the National Assembly to allocate seats and offices to the newly inaugurated members.

The committee is expected to work with the management of the National Assembly “for the allocation of our seats in the Senate and allocation of offices as well. It has two weeks to complete its assignment,” Lawan said.

The Chairman of the committee is Senator Abubakar Kyari (APC, Borno), while members are: Senators Ahmed Modibo (PDP, Adamawa), Gabriel Suswam (PDP, Benue), Sabi Abdullahi(APC, Niger) Betty Apiafi (PDP, Rivers) and Bassey Akpan (PDP, Akwa-Ibom).

Others include Jibrin Barau (APC, Kano), Ibrahim Gobir (APC, Sokoto), Nicholas Tofowomo (PDP, Ondo), Adeola Olamilekan (APC, Lagos), Chukwuka Utazi (PDP, Enugu) and Stella Oduah (PDP, Anambra).