PDP Wins All Ebonyi LG Seats

Four out of the six governorship aspirants of the PDP in Lagos State have withdrawn from the race.

Their withdrawal was announced by the Chairman of the Lagos PDP Electoral Committee/Returning Officer, Mr. Emmanuel Ogidi, while addressing journalists at the venue of the governorship primaries in Ikeja GRA.

READ ALSO: Gunshots As Supporters Protest Siege At Okorocha’s Residence

Ogidi said that Otunba Olanrewaju Jim-Kamal, Mr. Adedeji Doherty, Mr. Ade Dosunmu and Mr. Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour had stepped down.

The governorship aspirants remaining in the race are Dr. Olajide Adediran (Jandor) and Mr. David Vaughan.

The accreditation of ad hoc delegates had kicked off as at the time of filing this report.

The special congress is holding at the Haven Ground by Archbishop Vining Memorial Church Cathedral, Ikeja GRA, to choose the party’s flag bearer for 2023 governorship election in Lagos state.

Security personnel were strategically positioned at various entrances around the premises of the venue.

Several patrol vehicles and Armoured Personnel Carrier were also stationed at the access roads leading to the venue.

Some of the security agencies at the venue are the Nigeria Police, Department of State Security (DSS), Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC), Police Bomb Squad and Private Security, among others. (NAN)