Damini ‘Burna Boy’ Ogulu on Sunday emerged the ‘Young Person of the Year’ at The Future Awards Africa 2019.

He also took home The Future Awards Africa Prize for Music at the Awards ceremony which took place at The Balmoral Event Centre, Federal Palace Hotel, Lagos.

The ‘Young Person of the Year’ award, endowed by Amstel Malta, recognises a young person who has become a force for change, capturing the collective imagination of all Nigerians through their personal achievements, public image, and personal triumphs.

To win the ‘Young Person of the Year’ Burna Boy beat other outstanding Nigerians such as the speaker of the ninth Oyo State House of Assembly, Debo Ogundoyin; SDG advocate, Kenneth Udekwe; UFC middleweight champion, Israel Adesanya, and the #NigeriaMetooMovement, comprising Khadijah Adamu, Damilola Marcus, and Kiki Mordi.

According to a release by Red Media Africa, “Burna Boy cemented his place as this year’s breakaway music star with his 19-track album ‘African Giant’, garnering international awards and nominations, selling out venues globally, while also securing collaborations with renowned artists such as Angelique Kidjo, Damian Marley and Lily Allen.”

The release said Burna Boy had “captivated the local and global audience with his signature sound and undeniable charisma.”

Other winners at the gala night are Future Prize for Agriculture that went to Uka Eje, the founder of the Thrive Agric, that has funded over 15, 000 farmers across Nigeria.

For the Future Award Prize for Media, Samuel Ajiboye emerged winner as a young entrepreneur and a Country Manager, Alpha and Jam a company that has presence in four African countries.

Mr. Israel Adesanya, Nigeria’s World Champion in the Ultimate Fighting Championship, UFC, mixed martial art, a kick boxer clinched the prize for Sport.

The Future Award for Education went to Olaseni Cole, who runs an empowerment programme aimed at preparing and equipping children with skills within the tech-space. The project has impacted over 3,000 children in Lagos and Ogun.

The Prize for Technology was won by Zang Luka Bot, the inventor of the Foot House, an interaction traditional mouse that allows people with upper limb disability to interface computer with their leg.

The Prize for Fashion went to Sandra Tuboboreni, CEO, TUBO, a multi award winning global brand.

The Future Award Prize for Arts went to Ken Nwadiogu, a multidisciplinary artist and contemporalist. He founded the fast growing Artland Contemporary Ltd.

The Future Award for Acting was won by Tmini Egbuson, an actor in the MTV television series Shuga.

Thirty-two-year old Hamsat Lawal, who led a successful campaign in over 40 countries and specializes in practical issues related with Climate Change and others clinched the Prize for Advocacy.

The Prize for Community Action, was won by Isaac Success, the founder, Dreams from the Slum, DFTS, an empowerment initiative aimed at reducing high number of Out-of-School children in Nigeria.

The Award for Journalism went to Shola Lawal, a freelance journalist, covering social justice, development and Creativity.

The Prize for On Air Personality (OAP) was won by Simi Drey Adejumo, a broadcaster with Beat FM.

The Prize for Film Making went to Dare Olaitan for his efforts in the blockbuster film, “Ojukokoro (Greed) and “Knockout Blessing’’.

The Future Award for Photography was won by Tolani Alli, the personal photographer to the Vice President who has featured on BBC News, World Press and other international media houses.

The Future Awards for Africa for Public Service went to Adetola Onayemi, an international lawyer, the head, Trade Remedies/Assistant Trade and investment in the Office of the Vice President.

Bukky Akomolafe, the Commercial Manager at Travelsstart, Africa’s largest online travel agency won The Future Awards for Professional Service.

The Future Enterprise Support Scheme and The Future Awards Africa, have been described as ‘The Nobel Prize for Young Africans.’