Bayelsa Governor, Dickson Inaugurates 41-Member Transition Committee

Gov. Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa has inaugurated a 41-member Transition Committee in readiness for the inauguration of the incoming administration in the state.

The Governor-elect, David Lyon of the All Progressives Congress, APC, will take over the mantle of leadership in the state on Feb. 14, 2020.

Lyon beat 44 other contenders, including the Peoples Democratic Party’s candidate, Senator Douye Diri, in the Nov. 16 governorship election in the state.

Meanwhile, in a statement by the Chief Press secretary to Gov. Dickson, Mr. Fidelis Soriwei, he disclosed that the transition committee has the Secretary to the State Government, Mr. Kemela Okara, as Chairman, Mr. Talford Ongolo as Deputy Chairman and Mr. Luka Obiri as Secretary.

According to him, members of the committee which includes all serving Commissioners, five Permanent Secretaries and political appointees were inaugurated at the Governor’s Conference Room, Government House, Yenagoa.

He explained that the constitution of the Transition Committee was in line with the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

READ ALSO: LG Election: Political Party Kicks Against Appointment Of Transition Committee In Enugu State

Dickson who described the governorship election won by the APC on Nov. 16 as a charade, however, noted that irrespective of the outcome of the several initiatives being taken by the PDP, there was still need for a proper handover process to be initiated.

“Knowing that what transpired is not an election, we have to set up a transition committee the first time in our democratic rule.

“I thank God for the grace and enablement for making this possible for eight years and with a lot of achievements,” Dickson said.

The governor explained that the purpose of the committee was to articulate, record and document all the policies, programmes, projects and achievements of the administration in all sectors in eight years.

“That’s why all commissioners are part of this committee to enable you to present a scorecard of all our policies and programmes both completed and ongoing projects,” he said.

He thanked members of the committee for their diligence, sacrifice and manner they served his administration.

In his address, the chairman of the committee, Okara, assured that before the end of the year the committee would complete its assigned task.